History of Duke Urology

Urology at Duke has a storied history dating back to the beginning of Duke Medicine in 1930, when Dr. Edwin Alyea was recruited from Johns Hopkins. 

Under the guidance of Dr. Alyea, Duke created the first urology training program in the southern United States.

Dr. James Glenn, who followed Dr. Alyea, expanded both the faculty and resident complement and started the CURED (Committee for Urologic Research, Education, & Development) Foundation—an endowment that has enabled Duke Urology to further its mission and remain a premier center for urologic education and research.

Dr. David Paulson then led Duke Urology for 20 years and recruited faculty with sub-specialized training in pediatric urology, men’s health, kidney stone disease, reconstructive and female urology, and urologic oncology.  This model of sub-specialization, which originated at Duke, has been the template that all academic urology departments across the world continue to model.

Dr. Judd Moul succeeded Dr. Paulson and established the Duke Raleigh practice and continued to add prestigious faculty to the division, maintaining its ranking as a top 10 program.

Dr. Glenn Preminger carried on the tradition of leading Duke Urology by advancing its research and clinical endeavors.

Dr. Gary Faerber assumed the role of Division Chief in 2021 and assumed the role of interim Department Chair in 2023.